Patience is….. a virtue?

1 May

I partially tore my Achilles heal….it happened months ago but I continued to run, chalking the discomfort up to over training and just a sore muscle. I finally went to the sports medicine doctor and after xrays and an ultrasound, he immediately put me in a boot. 18 days later…..no running, no real cardio (except biking), the boot came off yesterday!! Can I get an AMEN?!!! 

My doctor said that he was shocked that I followed directions so religiously. He said that I was “three weeks ahead” of where he expected me to be. I was THRILLED to say the least. Physical Therapy 3 days a week, keeping the boot on at all times (except when I slept and showered) all paid off. The tear has almost healed entirely and I am two weeks out from running again. I can walk, bike and do the elliptical machine now. Breaking a sweat is once again a beautiful thing. I had to bow out (not so gracefully) from a half marathon last weekend but I know that it was the correct decision. A partially torn Achilles can heal in 1-6 weeks. A ruptured Achilles will not. 

I’ve never been a good direction follower….in fact, I get lost using my GPS because I always think, “no, that can’t be right. I must turn right HERE, not THERE.” This time around, I listened: to my doctor, to my body and to God who all told me that if I wanted to be running again SOON, I must rest. 

There are thousands of races every year but I only have one body.

Listen and learn…..

Run on my friends.

 

2 Responses to “Patience is….. a virtue?”

  1. paigesato May 1, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    when i got a stress fracture in my heel, my doc was flabbergasted that I followed his instructions to a T. Sometimes we runners can surprise folks, it seems. our bad, rule-breaking reputation precedes us…

    • lwieland1971 May 1, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

      I agree completely. My thought process surrounding following the doctor’s suggestions is that it will get me back running sooner than later. Walked today and rode the bike which helped with the endorphins that I have been missing. We runners tend to want to push ourselves to the extreme. I know I do. This injury has helped me to see my humanness more and accept the things I can not change.

Leave a comment