Going farther….

4 Jun

I went out at 5:15 am this morning for a run. My goal was to do a “long one,” whatever that means. Last weekend, I finished 9 miles without too much trouble and it gave me the confidence I was looking for to believe that I can finish the half marathon this September without dying.

It was cool and drizzling when I went out this morning and the sun was beginning to rise over the local farm that I run by. The midst was hovering over the strawberry field and the music was playing in my ears. My feet were hitting the wet cement but I really felt nothing. I was in “the zone” as I often get when I run. It was just beautiful, peaceful and calm.

When I returned home, I mapped my run and was surprised to see that I covered 9.66 miles without trouble. It’s amazing what we are able to accomplish when we believe in ourselves.

I’m a published children’s book author and most of my projects are about self-confidence, the importance of never giving up and in perseverance: good lessons for me to remember when I run. The feeling I get when running is something I can’t explain to “non-runners.” It’s not obsessive, it’s amazing.

Keep running my friends. Anything is possible.

 

Leave a comment